Jem’s Favorite Mask Packs [Part 1]

I am Jem and I am obsessed with mask packs. Even if I already have 100 at home, I cannot be stopped from purchasing more. I think I may be on a mission to try every type of mask pack. When I say mask pack, I am referring to those adorable (frightening?) sheets you can put on your face to improve the condition of your skin.

A mask sheet is normally a cotton sheet which has been soaked in a magical elixir which is good for your skin. The plants and herbs which are included in the pack vary by product and type.

I’m on a mission. A mission to try all of the major brands. Until that day comes, I’d like to share with you some of my favorite mask packs.

I usually apply a mask pack in the morning for 20 minutes before applying makeup. It makes the skin moist and helps the makeup look dewy!

Mask 1: Black Dual Mask <Wrinkle Energy> By: SCINIC

 Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.20.48 PM

This two-piece mask is black as illustrated in the photo below. Many mask packs are normally white or brown in color, but I find that black masks seem to have a lot of great effects. What I like about the two-piece system – unlike other masks, the bottom half of this mask also covers your neck. You get some anti-aging power on your chin and neck as well!

Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.21.16 PM

Ingredients include black beans and charcoal for healing the skin.

Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.36.48 PM

The regular line of Scinic Products are great too, but I love the black masks the best. The light red packaging is for ‘wrinkle energy’ (Anti-Aging) and the blue is for moisturizing and whitening. The other four above are also very great!

The black masks retail for 2,500 won. The other masks retail for 1,500 won per mask.

Mask: Hydrogel Mask By: Innisfree

Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.19.42 PM

There are five types of hydrogel care masks offered by innisfree. These are great and cooling, but a little bit slippery to apply. One of the difficulties of the gel masks is that if you have fingernails, you can easily slice through the mask while trying to peel it from its plastic casing. Besides the difficulty of getting it on, I love the results of this mask. Soft, subtle skin that has a glow. I have tried all of the masks above, with my favorite being the mushroom, listed as “Total Care”.

Innisfree products are very natural and do not contain many skin irritants. Let’s look at some of the ingredients for success:

 Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.19.22 PM

Raspberries, dandelions, mugwort, selfheal, sable, and other types of herbs that I can’t seem to find the English name!

Either way, this is a fantastic mask if you can handle the slipperiness.

Mask 3: Real Nature Mask By: The Face Shop

Cheap and wonderful! The best thing about these masks is that they are effective but also cheap!!

They usually retail for 1,000 won per mask, but they often have 5 + 5 or 10 +10 sales where you can purchase the mask for 500 won or less each! YES! 10 masks for 5,000 won? I’m using them on a daily basis.

I’ve included my two favorites: Acai Berry and Blueberry. However, depending on your skin needs, you may want to go for another choice.

Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.38.26 PM Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.39.12 PM

What choices? All of these choices! The names are written in English already, so less work for me! ❤

I love Acai Berry, Blueberry, Pomegranate, and Rice.

Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.38.41 PM

Mask 4: Faith in Face ‘After Shower Look’ By: Faith in Face (Available at Olive Young)

It was hard to find photos of this pack, but it is a very nice one. They are a bit on the pricier side compared to other masks at Olive Young (3,500 won per mask) but they are very effective.

If you are looking for that ‘dewy’ look, then look no further. This mask keeps my skin moist ALL DAY. Looking fresh all day. Just as promised. Actually the entire line of Faith in Face masks are great (including gel eye patches ‘Eye Am Not Tired’ – instant magic!) but this one stands out as my favorite.

Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.41.54 PM Screen shot 2014-05-26 at 10.42.17 PM

Looking fresh all day!

That’s it for Jem’s Favorite Mask Packs … Part 1? More to come as I explore more wonderful, wonderful masks ❤

Leave a Reply

